New Police Chief: President to submit names of 3 SDIGs to CC this week

View(s): 1811


President Ranil Wickremesinghe is due to submit three names to the Constitutional Council on Tuesday to select the next Inspector General of Police amidst a growing tussle for the topmost position in the Police Department.

IGP C.D. Wickremaratne ended his term last Monday after getting two extensions.

According to the current seniority list, the names are of Senior DIG (Administration) Nilantha Jayawardena followed by Senior DIG (North Western Province) L.S.Pathinayake, Senior DIG (Western Province) Deshabandu Tennakoon, Senior DIG (Crime) Priyantha Weerasuriya and Senior DIG (Sabaragamuwa) P.P.S.M Dharmaratne.

The Sunday Times learns that the three names would be selected from the most senior DIGs.

Meanwhile, campaigns have been underway for the selection of the next IGP.

The week-long delay in naming the new IGP has already caused administrative issues including issuing directives related to crime and narcotic operations.


Hit Counter provided by technology news