CBSL eliminates 15 Money Changers for non-compliance

Tuesday, 11 July 2023 01:22 –      – 37

The Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka has decided not to renew the money changing permits of the 15 Money Changers (MCs) for the year 2023, due to the non-compliance with a condition of the permits issued for the year 2022, which was communicated to the respective MCs on 22.02.2023.

The public has been informed that the companies listed above are no longer permitted to engage in money changing activities, and buying, selling and exchanging foreign currency with such companies are considered as a contravention of the provisions of the Foreign Exchange Act, No. 12 of 2017.

The 15 MCs are Aruna Forexc  No. 22, New Bazaar Street, Nuwara Eliya; Brescia Grameen Ltd., No. 88/02, Chilaw Road, Kattuwa, Negombo; Jeya Forex Exchange Ltd. No. 688, Galle Road, Colombo 03; Kamal Enterprises Ltd. No. 57A, Bristol Paradise Building, York Street, Colombo 01; Kudamadu Money Exchange Ltd. Main Road, Mahawewa; Midna Mini Market Ltd. No. 12, Shopping Complex, Wennappuwa; New Lanka Gold House Ltd., No. 59, Rathnapura Road, Horana; Rafeek’s Gems Ltd. No. 109, Chatham Street, Colombo 01; Rimha Jewellers Ltd. No. 4/A, Masjidh Road, Puttalam; Salaka Trust Investments Ltd. No. 466, Union Place, Colombo 02; Sharanga Money Exchange Ltd. No. 157/1, Kasturiyar Road, Jaffna; Sornam Forex Ltd.,  No. 59, Batticaloa Road, Kalmunai; Thamasha Forex Ltd., No. 131, Bazzar Street, Chilaw; Universal Money Changers Ltd., No. 143A, Galle Road, Colombo 06 and Vasanthas International Money Exchange Ltd. No. 56, D S Senanayake Veediya, Kandy.



Hit Counter provided by technology news