NPP MP Herath quits PSC appointed to probe causes of bankruptcy



NPP MP Vijitha Herath yesterday resigned from the Parliamentary Select Committee (PSC) appointed to probe Sri Lanka’s bankruptcy and submit recommendations on the matter.

In a letter addressed to the Speaker, MP Herath said that he does not believe that the PSC will be able to achieve its goal owing to its composition.

 “A committee consisting of those who are responsible for leading the country to bankruptcy will not act in a fair manner. Therefore, I have decided to resign from the aforementioned committee,” Herath has said in this letter.

The PSC will be chaired by SLPP MP Sagara Kariyawasam.

Other members of the committee include State Minister D.V. Chanaka, Minister Pavithradevi Wanniarachchi, MP Mahindananda Aluthgamage, MP Eran Wickramaratne, MP Ashok Abeysinghe, MP Jayantha Ketagoda, MP Harshana Rajakaruna, MP Pradeep Undugoda, MP Sanjeeva Edirimanna, MP Nalaka Kottegoda, MP Shanakiyan Rasamanickam, and MP Ranjith Bandara.


Hit Counter provided by technology news