CC yet to endorse second extension for IGP



Controversy surrounds the delay on the part of the Constitutional Council to decide on the second extension of service granted to IGP C. D. Wickramaratne.

 President Ranil Wickremesinghe recently granted the second extension to Wickramaratne, subject to approval by the Constitutional Council. The CC consists of Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, Premier Dinesh Gunawardena, Opp. Leader Sajith Premadasa, Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva, Kabir Hashim, Sagara Kariyawasam, Dr. Prathap Ramanujam, Dr. Anula Wijesundere and Dr Dinesha Samararatne

The Island learns that the Constitutional Council has sought the Attorney General’s advice in this regard. Wickramaratne retired on 26 June, when his first three-month extension in service expired. The second extension was given two weeks after his retirement.

Rebel SLPP leader Dullas Alahapperuma yesterday told The Island that he would raise this issue both in and out of Parliament.He pointed out that the Constitutional Council hadn’t made its position known on this matter for three weeks after the second extension was granted. (SF)


Hit Counter provided by technology news