No-confidence motion against Health Minister defeated, 113 to 73



By Saman Indrajith

The Opposition’s no-confidence motion vote against Health Minister Keheliya Rambukwella received 113 nays and 73 ayes yesterday in Parliament.The motion was defeated by a majority of 40 votes. Thirty eight MPs were absent when the vote was taken after a three-day debate moved by the SJB.

The SJB, JVP–led NPP, TNA and SLPP dissidents in the Opposition ranks voted for the motion.SJB MP Dr. Kavinda Jayawardana moved the motion in Parliament, claiming that Minister Rambukwella should be held responsible for the crisis situation in the health sector.

The motion of no-confidence against the Health Minister was handed over to Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena by SJB General Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara and MP Jayawardana on 21 July, with the signatures of 45 MPs.

The motion was moved over the alleged irresponsible importation of substandard medicines and surgical equipment which weakened the health sector and caused the deaths of several patients while receiving treatment in state hospitals.The Opposition alleged that the government continued to import low-quality medicines and surgical equipment, endangering the lives of the sick.


Hit Counter provided by technology news